eTextile Holiday Card

LED Holiday Card

Here is the process I used to create an e-textile holiday card with LEDs sparkling in the winter sky.  I started with scraps of fabric left over from various projects.  This included several cotton prints, white felt, and some heavy interfacing.  The interfacing acted as a stabilizer for the card.

img_5175

I sewed several pieces of fabric onto the interfacing to create a snowy landscape.

img_5171

 

Using a decorative embroidery stitch, I sewed across the top of the white felt hills.

img_5172

 

Then I glued on tiny little fabric triangles to represent evergreen trees.

img_5173

To cover the raw edge, I sewed bias tape around the edges.

img_5174

 

Then came my new adventure – soldering.  I didn’t even know we had a soldering iron until my husband brought it in from the garage and showed me how to use it.  To create the circuit for the LEDs, I used size 22 coated wire, solder, flux, a soldering iron, six white LEDs, and a 2032 coin cell battery.  I used a wire cutter/stripper to cut the wire and strip off the plastic coating and needle nose pliers to help bend the wire.

img_5182

 

Here is my first attempt at soldering.  I am embarrassed at how messy it is, but it works.

img_5158-1

 

Next I sewed the circuit on the back of the fabric card, cutting tiny holes for the LEDs.  I stitched around each one to secure it to the fabric. The little pentagon of white felt is insulating two wires that were crossing and creating a short circuit.  

img_5180

I sewed the battery holder to the back of the card and slipped in the coin cell battery.  The battery holder has an on/off switch so that the lights are not always on.  The final card is shown below.  

img_5181

Categories: Art, Circuits, Technology | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

